Shire of Kent

Area: 6,552 sq km

Population: 562 (2018)

Map of Great Southern highlighting Shire of KentThe Shire of Kent encompasses two towns, Nyabing and Pingrup, in a broadacre farming area in the north-east of the Great Southern. Nyabing is about 320km south east of Perth and Pingrup is 40km east of Nyabing. Both communities are rich in local history and tourist attractions.

The name Nyabing is thought to be derived from an Aboriginal word for an everlasting flower. The meaning of the name Pingrup is unknown. Kent Shire takes its name from the commissariat officer of Dr Thomas Braidwood Wilson's expedition of 1829.

The Shire of Kent was established in 1923 as the Kent Road Board. In 1955 the name was changed to the Nyabing-Pingrup Road Board and retained this name in 1961 when it became a Shire. The name was further altered in 1973 to the Shire of Kent.

Find out more from the Shire of Kent.

Other local government areas in the Great Southern: City of Albany, Shire of Broomehill-Tambellup, Shire of Cranbrook, Shire of Denmark, Shire of Gnowangerup, Shire of Jerramungup, Shire of Katanning, Shire of Kojonup, Shire of Plantagenet and Shire of Woodanilling