Local Governments

The Great Southern comprises the City of Albany and the Shires of Broomehill-Tambellup, Cranbrook, Denmark, Gnowangerup, Jerramungup, Katanning, Kent, Kojonup, Plantagenet and Woodanilling.

About 60,000 people live in the region. Albany, the State's oldest European settlement, is a port city with one of the best natural anchorages in the Southern Hemisphere. It supports a population of 38,000 and is the region's administrative hub. Much of the Great Southern’s primary produce is transported from Albany.

Katanning (population 4100) is the administrative centre for the region’s hinterland. Katanning’s population is from diverse cultural backgrounds.

Read more about the Great Southern: Geography, History, Lifestyle, Opportunity, Economy, Assets and Services, Major Projects, Local Governments