Board of Management

The Board of Management is the governing body of the GSDC and meets regularly to set policy directions including budgets, to approve major expenditures and to provide advice to the Minister on regional matters. Decisions of the Board direct the activities of the GSDC.

The three categories for the Board membership are:
•    Community nominations (two persons)
•    Local Government nominations (two persons)
•    Ministerial nominations (two persons)

Board members are confirmed by the Minister for Regional Development with a term ranging between one and three years.

Board members are chosen on the basis of ability at an executive level, a demonstrated involvement in either the economic or social development of the region, and the ability to work co-operatively to achieve agreed goals across a wide range of social and economic issues.

Individuals or organisations may nominate people for the GSDC Board. People nominated as prospective community members should possess interest and knowledge relevant to regional communities. Appropriate fields of involvement could include business and industry; employment, education and training; tourism and recreation.

The Board

Deputy Chair: Ronnie Fleay

Ronnie Fleay

Ronnie Fleay is a Councillor and former President of the Shire of Kojonup.  She is a member of the Western Australian Planning Commission and a former Chairperson at the Gascoyne Development Commission.

Vernice Gillies

Vernice Gillies

Noongar elder Vernice Gillies is part of Kurrah Mia, an Aboriginal-owned tour and retail business in Albany. Ms Gillies was formerly an Aboriginal Learning and Community Liaison Officer with the Museum of the Great Southern. She has served on committees including the Aboriginal Heritage Reference Group, the South Coast Natural Resource Management Heritage Committee and the WA Aboriginal Justice Committee.

Jo Iffla

Jo Iffla

Cr Iffla is a long-term resident of Bremer Bay and has been a member of the Jerramungup Shire Council since 2005. Cr Iffla was re-elected for a further four-year term in October 2013 and reappointed as Deputy Shire President on 20 November 2013. She represents the Shire on a range of committees. She has been a self-employed farmer for the past twenty years and continues to be actively involved in sports clubs at Boxwood Hill and Bremer Bay.

Annie Roberts

Annie Roberts

Annie Roberts is Australia Post’s Postal Manager, Regional and Rural Post Office Network. Through Australia Post, Ms Roberts has taken up roles as a small business champion, community advocate and supporter of traineeships for diversity and Aboriginal students. She is president of the Australia Postal Institute Albany branch, and has supported Albany Headspace and networking group Great Southern Women.

Bruce Manning

Mr Manning is the Chief Executive Officer of the Great Southern Development Commission and an ex-officio member of the Board. His regional development experience includes five years as the Regional Manager for WA TAFE in the Great Southern region and five years as Executive Officer of the Southern Province Projects Group. He has won several regional development awards.